Lactose-Free Irish Cream

A few items to keep you guessing what I'm up to in the kitchen this weekend.

St. Patrick’s Day is just around the corner, and I’m all in tizzy. There are SO many treats I could make to celebrate in style. Lucky for me, I have a party to go to, so I’ll have lots of people to feed and an excuse to make more than I would if it were just me and Bobatt.

Booze, Coffee, Cream and Chocolate make Irish Cream

Up first on my long list of Irish-inspired kitchen adventures – homemade, lactose-free Irish Cream. I need this for a top-secret recipe for my party on Saturday, and thought I’d try to make my own so I can enjoy the treat too. A couple of easy steps later and I was sipping on a Bailey’s on the Rocks.

Stay tuned for what prompted me to make this recipe in the first place!

Irish Cream On the Rocks

Lactose-Free Irish Cream

Yield:1 large mason jar (about 750 mL)

Prep Time: 5 minutes | Cooking Time: 2 hours

Ingredients:

Sweetened Condensed Milk

1 1/2 cup lactose-free whole milk
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3 tbsp lactose-free butter or vegan margarine

Irish Cream

1 cup heavy cream
1 2/3 cups Irish Whiskey (I used Jamieson’s)
1 oz shot espresso
2 tbsp chocolate syrup (I used Hershey’s Reduced Sugar)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

1. Place whole milk and sugar in a heavy pot.

2. Bring to a low simmer on medium-low heat, stirring often.

3. When steam starts to rise off the milk, reduce the heat to low and continue to stir constantly. Reduce heat to the lowest setting you can when the sugar has dissolved.

4. Allow the mixture to simmer for 2 hours and it has reduced by almost half. Stir every 15 minutes or less so the milk doesn’t scald or form a skin.

5. When the mixture has reduced, add the butter and vanilla. Stir until mixed.

6. Once you’ve made the sweetened condensed milk, pour that and the remaining ingredients in a jar. Shake well.

(Adapted from Homemade Bailey’s Irish Cream by Cupcake Project and Healthy Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk by Kitchen Stewardship)

Note: This recipe will keep in your fridge in an air-tight container for quite a while. The alcohol is a natural preservative, and the milk will not go bad. The Bailey’s website says that you should have just as fresh Irish Cream after 2 years as you did the day you opened it. Or course, that is the original Bailey’s recipe; Cupcake Project suggests this particular recipe will keep for up to 2 months.

2 thoughts on “Lactose-Free Irish Cream

    • Hi there,

      I’ve recently found a product from Lactantia that sells lactose-free heavy cream. I’ve found it at Safeway, Coop and Sobeys. I’ve also seen this product at natural food stores. Before I found this product, I would buy regular heavy cream and treat with a large dose of Lactaid drops.

Leave a Reply

