Choco-coco-nutty Oatmeal for One

It’s the last half day of work before Easter Break. I am beyond excited. This means 10 blessed, kid-free days…days spend doing whatever my little heart desires. What does my heart wish for this particular break? Travel. Only problem is that travelling is pricey. Luckily, I will be playing trumpet in an orchestra at Easter masses this weekend. My first paid gig, and I’ll be rolling in big bucks come Sunday.

My destination is currently unknown top secret. I know you’ll all be waiting with bated breath to hear where Bobatt and I are off to. Until then, I’m making healthy food choices to I can indulge in my travel destinations local cuisine. For breakfast today is a smoothie and homemade oatmeal. Choco-coco-nutty Oatmeal. A little bit of a “last-day-of-work-before-vacation” treat, but still packs the fibre and good-for-you cholesterol-lowering, heart disease-reducing, antioxidant everyone needs.

Oatmeal for One

Yield: 1 serving

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

Basic Oatmeal

1/2 cup oats
3/4 cup lactose-free milk
1/2 tsp salt

Toppings

Handful chocolate chips
Handful toasted nuts (whatever kind you’d like – I used macademia nuts and cashews this time – just try to use the unsalted variety)
Handful coconut flakes

Note: Toppings can be whatever you wish. I just tend to lean towards anything that sounds like a chocolate bar for breakfast.

Directions:

1. Combine the oats, milk and salt in a small saucepan.

2. Cook over medium-high heat, stirring constantly. Remove from heat when the oats thicken and start to smell fragrant.

3. If you’d like to toast whatever nuts you’ve chosen to use, place in a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake for 5 – 10 minutes at 350 degrees F. I did this before I started the oatmeal, so that everything would be done once the oats were.

4. Transfer the cooked oatmeal to a bowl. Sprinkle with chocolate chips, nuts and coconut. Pour a splash of milk over top of it all.

(Adapted from Five-Minute Chocolate Oatmeal by Chocolate Covered Katie)

Leave a Reply

