Cooking

Lactose-Free Butter

Butter. How have I lived so long without it?! Lactose-intolerance isn’t even my only excuse. I’ve only been this way for a few years. I didn’t eat butter at all before this. I always swore by margarine. I was even sceptical of making butter, because I worried about wasting cream. I could use that cream for other recipes like ice cream or …. something else!

At that-guy-I-like’s insistence, we gave it a shot. I went out, bought a 1L carton of old-fashioned whipping cream, and treated it with the appropriate amount of Lactaid drops (about 20 drops if you’re curious –  the bottle says about 10 – 15, but I always add more just to be safe).

I researched a few blogs to see how other people have done it. It turns out this process is relatively simple, especially since I splurged on a KitchenAid mixer. I settled on a recipe I found at One Green Generation.

One Green Generation suggests you could use a jar with a lid if interested in having a good upper arm workout. I’d rather just use my mixer. At the rate I’m making and using butter, it’s just easier. She also suggests using room temperature cream – I was hasty and just used the cream right out of the fridge. The next steps are so simple!

Step 1: Pour cream into the bowl of your stand mixer, and using the whisk attachment whisk on high for about 10 – 20 minutes. I covered the mixer once it was one, because if not, I’ve discovered an incredibly big mess ensues.

 Step 2: Keep checking on your butter making – it will go through a few phases.

Phase 1 will be for the whipping cream to turn into whipped cream.

Phase 2: Whipped cream will move become over-whipped.


Phase 3: The butter will start to separate from the buttermilk.

Step 3: At this point, let the mixer keep going for another few minutes. You want the butter and buttermilk to completely separate from each other.

Step 4: Now that the butter and buttermilk have separated, the buttermilk needs to be poured off. Save this in an airtight container in your fridge. It can be used in recipes.

Step 5: Once you’ve poured off most of the butter milk, you need to wash the remaining buttermilk off of the butter. Leaving buttermilk on the butter will cause it to go rancid faster.  I did this step by washing it with water and squeezing out the excess liquid. It took me several washes and squeezes to do this. I started with a potato masher, but quickly moved to my hands

Step 6: Once butter is clean, portion it into containers and it’s ready to use. This usually makes me 2 6oz canning jars of butter. I put one in my cupboard to use, and the other in the freezer until I need it.

Lactose-Free Butter

Yield: 2 6oz jars

Prep Time: Inactive – 24 hours (to treat cream with Lactaid) | Active – 30 minutes

Equipment:

Stand Mixer with whisk attachment (or jar and lid)

Strainer

Bowl

Spatula

Ingredients:

Heavy Whipping Cream

Preparation:

1. Pour whipping cream into mixer with whisk attachment.

2. Set mixer to high. Cover and let it do its thing.

3. Once you can hear and see that the butter has separated from the buttermilk, pour off the buttermilk using a strainer. Reserve this buttermilk to use in other recipes.

4. Rinse the butter of any remaining buttermilk using water and at tool of your choice (hands, potato masher, spatula, etc)

5. Divide into containers.

6. Enjoy!

(Adapted from One Green Generation How to Make Homemade Butter at http://1greengeneration.elementsintime.com/?p=685 )

8 thoughts on “Lactose-Free Butter

  1. I have definitely tried this and had let the heavy cream and lactase enzyme sit for a day or so to make sure it ate up the lactose. I felt too paranoid/ protective of my gut to try my butter though. Granted, I only used 10 drops so I don’t think it converted all of the lactose to glucose. Did you find you have any lactose-intolerance symptoms after you ate this?

    1. Hi Meredith!

      I usually use up to 20 drops in a 1L of cream. I’ve very paranoid about how much is needed to fully treat dairy. With this amount of Lactaid, my own butter is perfectly fine for me to use!

    2. Hi Meredith,

      I just saw this comment now! I’m so sorry it’s been several months. I don’t check here very often during the school year.

      Anyway, I’ve always been fine with my butter. To save costs, I’ve been using lactose-free cream. It’s already treated, so I don’t have to buy cream AND lactaid drops.

    1. Hi there! Sorry I took so long to write back! It’s been awhile since I checked my blog. I buy the Lactaid drops at any pharmacy/grocery store with a pharmacy. I use twice as many drops as recommended, just to be safe!

Leave a Reply

