Posted in Cooking, Sweets

Mexican Hot Chocolate Pie

Last week,  Calgary experienced weather that was on average -30 degrees Celsius. Windchill on top of that had us as cold as -40. It lasted for a solid week. To say it was chilly is a grand understatement. In the middle of it all, I decided I had some free time to bake. I didn’t want to go out and deal with the frigid weather and the grocery store to get ingredients. So I set about searching through my pantry and cupboards to see what I could come up with. I found in my freezer some pie crust, and in my pantry some chocolate pudding mix. I also had whipping cream in my fridge. It was decided – I’d make a chocolate pie!

I didn’t want to make an ordinary chocolate pie though. I’ve been itching to make something chocolatey and spicy for ages. Since it was so cold, I thought that a chocolate pie with some heat would be the perfect thing. Now I was warming up my house by using my oven, using up ingredients that had been hanging out for a while, and knocking off an item on my bucket list. Plus – the other teachers on my staff would love the yummy treat I’d deliver to school the next day. All around, it was a winning combination.

This pie was really simple to make, and it was very well received. It was also very pretty, and just a little out of the ordinary.

The first thing I had to do for this pie was defrost my pie crust. I always use the entire package of lard when I make crust, and then freeze portions for later use. An entire package of Tenderflake lard will make about 6 pie crusts. To defrost, I decided to microwave it just a touch because I was too impatient to wait for it to defrost naturally. 10 seconds on each side worked just fine.

Once it defrosted and I could roll it out, I had barely enough crust to cover my pan. I rolled it out as thin as I could. It ended up making a really short pie, almost like a tart.

I used my handy, dandy pie crust cutter thingy that I bought at William-Somoma for an exorbitant amount of money but have never used before! It added an nice textured edge to my crust.

Then I blind baked the crust.

While the crust was baking, I cooked up some chocolate pie filling. I also added some heat to this using a mixture of cinnamon and cayenne pepper.

Once the crust was baked and the pudding had thickened, I filled the crust. After these had cooled and set in the fridge, I topped the pie with whipped cream, chocolate shavings and a touch of cinnamon.

I had a little extra filling because my crust was so short, so I also made a Mexican Chocoalte Parfait too!

Mexican Hot Chocolate Pie

Yield: 1 9-inch pie

Prep Time: 15 minutes | Cooking Time: 45 minutes | Inactive Prep Time: 4 hours

Ingredients:

Pie Crust (recipe found on box of Tenderflake)
5 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
2 tsp salt
1 lb (464 g) Tenderflake® lard
1 tbsp vinegar
1 egg, lightly beaten
Water

Pie Filling
1 box Dr. Oetker Cooked Dark Chocolate Pudding and Pie Filling
or use my recipe for Chocolate Pudding
2 cups milk of your choice (I used lactose-free chocolate milk)
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground cayenne pepper

Pie Topping
1 cup whipping cream (real cream treated with Lactaid drops or a Lactose-free oil based cream – I recommend going for the real thing)
1 tsp white sugar
1 oz dark chocolate, shaved
1 tsp cinnamon

Preparation:

1. Mix together flour and salt.

2. Cut in Tenderflake with pastry blender or 2 knives until mixture resembles coarse oatmeal.

3. In a 1 cup measure combine vinegar and egg. Add water to make 1 cup.

4. Gradually stir liquid into Tenderflake mixture. Add only enough liquid to make dough cling together.

5. Gather into a ball and divide into 6 equal portions. If desired, wrap unused portions and refrigerate or freeze.

6. Roll out one portion of crust on lightly floured surface. If the dough is sticking chill 1 – 2 hours. Transfer dough to pie plate. Trim and flute crust.

7. Pre-heat your oven to 350°F. When the pie crust is chilled, line the pie crust with parchment paper, wax paper, or aluminum foil. Fill at least two-thirds full with pie weights – dry beans, rice, or stainless-steel pie weights.

8. Bake with weights for 20 minutes. Remove from oven, cool a few minutes and carefully remove pie weights. Poke small holes in the bottom of the pie crust with a fork and return to oven (without the weights) and cook for another 10 minutes, until the crust is golden. Cool completely before filling.

9. Empty package contents of pudding mix into saucepan. Gradually stir in the milk, cinnamon and cayenne pepper.

10. Cook over medium heat (not higher), stirring constantly, until filling thickens and boils (bubbles break surface). When bubbles first break surface, continue to boil and stir for 1 minute. Remove from heat (pudding will thicken further while chilling).

11.  Cool 5 min., stirring twice. Pour pudding pie; chill 3-4 hours. (I just put the pie in the fridge overnight and topped in the morning before work. Place plastic wrap on surface of warm pudding to prevent formation of skin.

12. Pour whipping cream and sugar into bowl. Mix on high until the cream is stiff and holds peaks. Spread on top of the chilled pie. Top with shaved chocolate and more cinnamon.

Leave a Reply

