Posted in Cooking, Sweets

Oreo Cupcakes in honour of National Chocolate Cake Day

Friday was rough. It was long, it was Friday, and it was Friday. I was counting down the minutes until the end of the work day from the moment I got out of bed! On my way to work, the radio told me it was National Chocolate Cake Day. That was really it for me. Once I heard that declaration, there was no hope of focus for the rest of the day. I did give it a good effort…I photocopied some things, I taught some classes, I did some marking. My heart was dreaming of chocolate cake though, and during every class change, recess, preps and my lunch hour I was scouring the internet for the right recipe. I finally settled on what to create – Oreo Cupcakes.

Friday night I had a gig. I’m in a band, and we perform at basketball games most weekends during January and February as a fundraiser. While this makes the weekends long, I get to spend time with my friends, doing what I love – and I have a captive audience. I often bring them treats to sample, and they always help me out with the task of finishing every last crumb. Just this past Monday, I brought Candy Kiss Chocolate Cookies to help clear our rehearsal of any cases of the Mondays. They were a hit. I figured I’d also help clear our case of the Fridays. And we needed to celebrate the National Chocolate Cake Day.

I didn’t want to bring plain old chocolate cupcakes though. I wanted to up the ante; people are starting to expect a lot from my baking, and I couldn’t let them down! I searched and searched for a recipe that was breathtakingly beautiful, was chocolate cakey enough, and allowed me to alter things to dairy-free. I ended up using a miss-mash of recipes to come up with what I’ll call Oreo Cupcakes. An Oreo cookie surprise on the bottom, delicious chocolate cake and whipped cream. Perfect! I brought them to the basketball game, and I was right in my assumptions. My band members ate them all up, and seemed to enjoy every bite.

Oreo Cupcakes

Yield: 30 cupcakes

Prep Time: 10 minutes | Baking Time: 15 – 20 minutes | Decorating Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

Cupcakes
2 cups sugar
1-3/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup Cocoa
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
1-1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 cup Lactaid milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup boiling water
30 Oreos
8 Oreos, chopped into quarters

Chocolate Ganache
12 ounces dark lactose-free chocolate, chopped into small pieces
1 cup heavy cream (treated with Lactaid drops)
Filling
1/3 cup heavy cream (treated with Lactaid drops)
2 tsp powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/8 cup Oreo cookie crumbs

Preparation:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and prepare cupcake pans with cupcake liners.

2. Place on Oreo cookie in the bottom of every lined cupcake liner.

3. Combine the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in the bowl of you stand mixer.

4. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla.

5. Mix on medium speed for 2 minutes.

6. Stir in boiling water.

7. Pour batter very carefully into prepared pans to fill cupcake liners 2/3 full and cover Oreo cookies.

8. Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.

9. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans and place on wire racks. Cool completely.

10. While cupcakes are cooling, heat 1 cup of heavy cream for the chocolate ganache over medium heat in a saucepan.

11. When the cream has come to a boil, remove from heat and add the chocolate. Stir until chocolate has melted and the mixture is smooth.

12. In another bowl, whip the remaining cream, sugar and vanilla until stiff. Fold in the Oreo cookie crumble.

13. Cut a small circular amount of the cake out of the centre of each cupcake. Discard the waste cupcake.

14. Dip the tops of each cupcake into the chocolate ganache.

15. Allow the chocolate ganache to cool on the cupcake tops. While waiting, fill an icing bag (or a Ziploc bag) with the cookie crumble whipped cream.

16. Fill each cut-out centre on the cupcakes with the whipped cream. Ice the tops of each cupcake with the same whipped cream filling, leaving a small amount of the chocolate ganache showing.

17. Top each cupcake with a quarter piece of Oreo cookie.

(Adapted from Chocolate Oreo Cake by Petit Chef at http://en.petitchef.com/recipes/chocolate-oreo-cake-fid-396852)

Leave a Reply

