Baked Goods · Cooking · Sweets

Whole Grain Buttermilk Pancakes

Pancakes are an every weekend kinda thing in my house. Either Saturday or Sunday, I don’t discriminate; some weekends it could be both days! At the rate that I’m making pancakes, I should almost turn this blog into a pancake blog. I try plain recipes, whole wheat recipes, buttermilk recipes, chocolate recipes, recipes with fruit, and the list goes on and on. Some I’d do again and again, some I wont’ try ever again. As I’ve said before, because of their high dairy content I can’t eat these out – so I spend a lot of time making them for myself at home.

I’ve held off on writing a post about pancakes for while now, because I want to offer the best I could find. I think I’ve found it, and am ready to share my top choice with the internet world. I’ve chosen the  Whole Grain Buttermilk Pancake as my first pancake recipe to share for a few reasons: 1) It’s whole grain, and I’m trying to make healthier, better-for-me food choices; 2) It doesn’t really taste whole grainy; 3) It’s light, fluffy, and holds up to a variety of other things you could do to it (such as different syrups, different additions, different ingredient variations).

Please send your accolades, well to me, but namely to Chef Michael Smith. I’ve made my own alterations to turn this recipe lactose-intolerant friendly, but it’s all because of his recipe that I can make these pancakes for  myself. My changes were to use my homemade, lactose-free butter, the homemade, lactose-free buttermilk that was the result of me making homemade, lactose-free butter, lactose-free milk and added some chopped up dark chocolate. I’ve also cut his recipe in half, since I’m never feeding an army of people.

Whole Grain Buttermilk Pancakes

Yield: 8 small pancakes

Prep Time: 10 minutes | Cooking Time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
1/2 cup oats
1 tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup lactose-free buttermilk (or lactose-free milk or soy milk)
1/8 cup lactose-free melted butter (or vegan margarine)
1 tbsp honey
1 egg
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
6 oz dark chocolate, chopped.

Directions:

1. Pre-heat your pan or griddle on medium to medium-high heat.

Pulse the oats in a food processor until they’re a finer consistency.

2. Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl and whisk together.

3. Make a well in the dry ingredients,and pour in the wet ingredients.

4. Mix until all ingredients are incorporated into the batter. You may need to add more milk if the batter is too thick.

5. This is the point that I added the chopped dark chocolate. Mix well.

6. Check on your pan or griddle. It’s ready when a few drops of water will dance across the surface. If the water evaporates, the pan is too hot. If the water pools, the pan is too cool. If it’s ready, add a tsp of butter and allow this to melt. I use a pastry brush to cover the entire pan with the melted butter.

7. Using a measuring cup (I use a 1/4 cup) to keep pancakes an equal size, pour a few pancakes on the heated pan. The amount you can do is dependant on the size of your pan. You don’t want to crowd the pancakes, and too many pancakes on your griddle can lead to pancake flipping disasters.

8. The pancakes are ready to flip when the edges have some bubble holes showing that don’t pop and fill back in. Carefully flip them over and allow the flip side to brown. The first side should be evenly browned with some brown rings (thanks to the butter). The pancakes are mostly cooked by this point, and the flip side should cook faster than the first.

9. Repeat with the remaining batter. Place the finished pancakes on a plate in a warmed oven while you wait for the remaining pancakes to cook.

10. Top with whatever toppings you wish – maple syrup and more butter, berry syrup, chocolate, fruit, whipped cream – so many variations. Enjoy along with a cup of joe, maybe some OJ, and to round out your meal a serving of fruit and a few laughs with some company.

(Recipe adapted from Whole Grain Pancakes by Chef Michael Smith at http://chefmichaelsmith.com/Recipe/country-inn-pancakes/)

Leave a Reply

