Cooking · Dinner · Savory

An Extra-Long Weekend and Sisters Night In!

It’s the weekend! And a long one to boot. On Thursday and Friday, Teachers Convention was held in Calgary. Then there is Saturday and Sunday like normal, plus Family Day on Monday. That means 5 blessed days off from work. I had a few activities to do during these days off. I spent some time in professional development sessions at Teachers Convention (fabulous ones though, that have left me inspired and excited to get back to work), I was a performer in a session at Teachers Convention on Friday night with my band, and I do need to squeeze in report cards somewhere. Despite a few busy things, these were/will be 5, mostly free days spent blissfully relaxing and coming up with things to make in my kitchen. It’s a wonderful thing!

We were headliners at the Teachers Convention this weekend!

My 4-Sticky-Note-Long Report Card To-Do List
In light of the extra-long weekend, I invited my sister over to celebrate. We decided we should have pizza, virgin cocktails (because she’s having a baby!) and then watch girlie movies like Twilight. Then I realized that Mardi Gras is coming up. Perfect excuse to have a theme night! She brought over little umbrellas for the drinks and Mardi Gras beads. I supplied food. I was so excited to plan for our Sisters Night In, that I’ll admit I went a bit overboard. I went grocery shopping and found all sorts of delicious things that I couldn’t put back. My food items were, well, from the wrong countries for Mardi Gras…but they’re exciting, so I figured it would be okay.

Sisters Night In spread
Our menu for tonight included:

Crab Dip (because the pregnant one was craving crab dip)
Potato and Vegetable Samosas with Mango Chutney (I’ve always wanted to try to make these – I get to check it off my bucket list!)
Chicken Satay Pizza
Raspberry Pineapple Spritzers
Coconut Ice Cream

A bit much for two people? Maybe. But it was all be delicious.

While I waited for her to get to my house, I made us our appetizers. Here is the link for the recipe I used for the Samosas and Mango Chutney. Very tasty. I chose to bake these, to make them healthier. The original recipe includes directions for how to fry these for a more traditional samosa.

Potato and Vegetable Samosas with Mango Chutney
While we waited for our pizza cook, we had these girly mocktails to get girls night started!

Raspberry Pineapple Spritzer
Our main course, Chicken Satay Pizza, was a really great creation. Not to toot my own horn or anything. It’s missing onion in this photo, since I lost my brain and couldn’t remember where I put the onion when I put away the groceries. Even with the missing ingredient, this pizza was tasty and came together really quickly. Exotic and unusual, this is another great way to make dinner more exciting.

Chicken Satay Pizza

Chicken Satay Pizza

Yield: 1 small pizza

Prep Time: 15 minutes | Inactive Prep Time: 2 hours | Cooking Time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

Pizza Dough

1/2 recipe of Lactose-Free Pizza Dough

Chicken Satay

1 chicken breast, diced
1/2 cup plain lactose-free yogurt
1/2 tsp grated ginger
1/2 tsp minced garlic
1/2 tbsp curry powder

Spicy Peanut Sauce

3/4 cup crunchy natural peanut butter
1/4 cup coconut milk
1 1/2 tbsp water
1 1/2 tbsp lime juice
1 1/2 tbsp soy sauce
1/2 tbsp fish sauce
1/2 tbsp hot sauce
1/2 tbsp ginger
1/2 tbsp minced garlic
3 tbsp chopped cilantro

Pizza Toppings

1 red pepper, diced
1/2 red onion, diced
1 cup grated lactose-free cheese

Directions:

1. Make the pizza dough according to the directions in my post for Lactose-Free Pizza Crust. This recipe only uses a half recipe, so you could cut all ingredients in the dough in half, make a full recipe and freeze half to use later, or double the satay and topping to make a larger pizza.

2. Preheat the oven to 500 degrees F, and place a pizza stone on the centre rack.

3. Place all ingredients for Chicken Satay in a bowl. Stir to combine. Add chicken and stir to coat. Place in a bag and allow to marinate for at least 2 hours. I did this step the night before to cut down on prep time at dinner time.

4. Combine all Spicy Peanut Sauce ingredients in a bowl. Stir. Set aside until ready to use.

5. Once the chicken has spent some time marinating in the satay sauce, saute chicken until cooked through (about 5 minutes).

6. Roll out the pizza dough on a pizza peel lined with parchment paper.

7. Top the pizza with a layer of Spicy Peanut Sauce, the red peppers and onion, the Satay Chicken and finally the cheese.

8. Place the pizza and parchment paper on the hot pizza stone. Cook for 10 – 15 minutes. When the crust has browned and the cheese is bubbly and crispy, the pizza is ready.

(Adapted from Chicken Satay and The Best Thai Peanut Sauce)

Leave a Reply

