Posted in Beverages, Sweets

Fresh Strawberry Milkshakes for Good Friday

I was very good today, and cleaned my house from top to bottom. I finished my laundry, I vacuumed, returned all of my recycling to the bins at the local community centre, picked up some fresh produce, and cooked a healthy dinner for me and Bobatt also cleaned my kitchen (which I’ve mentioned before that I loath doing) – twice.

I decided to use the beautiful strawberries I bought at the store today in a milkshake. I’d been really good and did most of my chores on my first day of holiday – so I figured I deserved a treat! I had all the ingredients in a measuring cup, and used my immersion blender to mix up the shake. Then I decided I needed more ice cream. I left the blender balancing in the measuring cup – and caplooey. It fell over, milkshake shot the entire length of my kitchen, and I got to mop and clean for the second time that day.

The good news is that most of the milkshake was saved and after adding a little bit more ice cream, it was perfect. The fresh strawberries really took this drink from ordinary to extraordinary. It was a good thing for Good Friday!

Fresh Strawberry Milkshakes

Yield: 2 small or 1 large milkshake

Preparation: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

1/2 a package of fresh strawberries (I used about 10 large strawberries)
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 a container of vanilla lactose-free ice cream (I used Chapman’s No Sugar Added Lactose-Free Ice Cream)
1/4 cup lactose-free milk

Directions:

1. Wash, hull and slice the strawberries. Add to a large measuring glass (I like to use this because it’s wide and tall, so I have room to crush the berries and make the mixture really smooth. And it has a pour spout.). Sprinkle the sugar over strawberries and stir to coat.

2. Allow the strawberries to macerate for 20 minutes.

3. Add the ice cream and the milk to the strawberries. Use an immersion blender to crush the berries and mix until thick, creamy and smooth. Enjoy!

(Adapted from Fresh Strawberry Milkshakes)

Leave a Reply

