Posted in Baked Goods, Cooking, Sweets

The Best Banana Bread I’ve Ever Made

When I posted about the Peanut Butter Cup Banana Bread, I thought I’d struck gold. Don’t get me wrong, it is amazing banana bread. But this new recipe I stumbled upon, Marbled Chocolate Banana Muffins, is even better. Banana-y, chocolate-y, cake-y, swirly…it’s got it all. I topped it with some sugar crystals for some crunch and added chocolate chips. You should all try this one as soon as you can!

Marbled Chocolate Banana Chip Muffins

Yield: 12 muffins

Prep Time: 10 minutes | Baking Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

1 cup white flour
1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup canola oil
1 tbsp lactose-free milk
2 eggs
2 medium bananas, mashed
2 tbsp cocoa powder

1 cup lactose-free chocolate chips
Coarse sugar for sprinkling

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Grease or line with muffin papers a 12 muffin pan.

3. In your stand mixer bowl, combine flours, baking powder and baking soda.

4. In a separate bowl (I used my big glass measuring cup again), whisk together sugar, oil, milk, eggs and mashed banana (If you’re banana texture creeped-out like me, I put the banana in as chunks first, then take my immersion blender and make the liquid mixture as smooth as I can get it).

5. Add the liquid mixture to flour mixture; mix using the paddle attachment on your stand mixer until just combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.

6. Remove 1/4 cup of the batter and mix with cocoa powder in a separate bowl. Set aside.

7. Pour the batter into the prepared muffin pan.

8. Drizzle the cocoa mixture over the batter in the pan, and then drag a knife or toothpick through the batter to create a marble effect. Sprinkle tops with coarse sugar after your muffins are marbled to your liking.

9. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until cooked through (when a knife inserted in the centre comes out clean).

(Adapted from Leslie Beck’s Healthy Kitchen recipe for Marbled Chocolate Banana Bread, reprinted in the Globe and Mail)

Leave a Reply

