Posted in Beverages, Cooking

Chocolate for Breakfast

Who doesn’t like chocolate for breakfast? I have been known to have actual chocolate for breakfast…like in pancakes, or Nutella on toast, or even in my oatmeal. I’m trying to watch what I’m eating and make better food choices, and my chocolate obsession isn’t helping my caloric intake. So I got to thinking about how I could still have that flavour, but not as many calories. I invented this smoothie, and I’ve had this smoothie everyday for a week. It tastes like a chocolate covered berry, but in a drink. A chocolate covered berry that happens to have spinach in it too. I think I’ve melded the best of both worlds really. Some cocoa, greek yogurt, some fruit and spinach. It’s a tasty, tasty way to have chocolate for breakfast without the guilt!

Cocoa Berry Green Monster Smoothie

Yield: 1 smoothie

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

1/2 cup raspberries (I used frozen so my smoothie would be more milkshake, less slimy fruit)
1/2 cup strawberries (I used fresh)
1 banana
1 block of frozen spinach (I used Europe’s Best Chef’s Spinach which comes in 15g blocks.You could also use fresh)
2 tbsp low-fat Greek yogurt
1/2 cup low-fat lactose-free milk (I used Dairyland Lactose-Free Chocolate Milk)
1 scoop Vega Smoothie Mix
1 spoonfuls of cocoa

Directions:

1. Add all ingredients to blender or blender bottle.

2. Whiz until smooth. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

