Cooking

A Milkshake and Nap Time

I just finished directing a musical. The very next day, I was hit by a whopper of a cold. It’s a typical part of the cycle of life as a teacher. You start a project, you get busy and overwhelmed, things finally calm down and then you get sick. I went running home after work yesterday for a nap a quick milkshake for my throat. It was a great recipe, so I thought I’d share my cold remedy. Well, it didn’t cure my cold, but I felt better because it was cold and yummy. And I think it made my nap that much sweeter – or was it the alcohol? Either way, give it a shot – it’s good!

Bailey’s Chocolate Milkshake

Yield: 2 small or 1 large milkshake

Preparation: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

3 or 4 scoops of lactose-free vanilla ice cream (I used Chapman’s No Sugar Added Lactose-Free Ice Cream)
1/4 cup Bailey’s Irish Cream (check out my lactose-free version of Irish Cream)
1/4 cup lactose-free milk
1 squirt of chocolate syrup

Directions:

1. Add all ingredients to a large glass measuring cup. Use an immersion blender to mix until thick, creamy and smooth. Add more liquid or booze if you need to make it liquidier – add more ice cream if it’s too liquidy (Really technical terms, I know). Pour the mixture into a tall glass, add a straw and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

