Posted in Cooking, Sweets

Searching for the Perfect Burger, I found the Perfect Mexican Chocolate Milkshake

Bobatt and I went out to a burger place the other night called Boogie’s Burgers. We’re on the quest for the best burger in Calgary, so when the opportunity arose to try this place out, we abandoned all other plans and headed on over. I’m not sure we’ve found the very best yet; many good burgers were tasted before this, and too many other places still to try), but what we did find was tasty and a lot of fun. What I loved most about this diner is that they make the food to order, and were able to make mine without dairy. I love a place when they’ll make accommodations for me! I also loved how good my meal was – classic, simple, perfect. The video game table we sat at was also pretty cool.

In case you’re wondering, here are our top picks for burger places so far. In no particular order: Five Guys, Rocky’s Burger Bus, Alley Burger, Boogie’s Burgers, Dairy Lane and Fergus and Bix. They’re not ranked here because Bobatt and I can’t agree. He really likes Five Guys, I can’t eat there again because they put dairy in their buns. He’s never been to Rocky’s Burger Bus, but I really liked it. The other places all served very different, but very satisfying burgers. It’s so hard to choose the best. And I’m sure there are more places we haven’t even thought to try yet!

Anyway, back to Boogie’s Burgers. I had the Single Patty Burger with Boogie’s signature red sauce and all the fixings. Bobatt had the Boog Mak, which is two patties, thousand island dressing, cheddar pickles and all the fixings. The burgers were simple but cooked perfectly and served on a toasty sesame bun. Bobatt and I agree that the best burgers have a great bun and no stuff in the burger mix (otherwise you’d be having meatloaf on a bun, and we don’t like meatloaf). We’re happy to report that Boogie’s Burgers delivered on both of those demands on burgers that we have. Great bun. Great burger. We shared a side of yam fries with spicy amazinaise (spicy mayo dip).

The real star of this dinner out though, for me at least, was Bobatt’s beverage. He had an Angry Aztec milkshake – chocolate, cayenne and cinnamon. Understandably, Boogie’s couldn’t accommodate this menu item for me. So once we finished eating, I raced home and made a copy cat. It’s SO good. Your classic chocolate milkshake with a spicy twist. If you’re lactose-intolerant like me, you should give this shake a try. If you can handle dairy, head on over to Boogie’s to order the real thing! Or, just make this at home too. It’s good, I promise.

Mexican Chocolate Milkshake

Yield: 2 small or 1 large milkshake

Preparation: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

3 or 4 scoops of lactose-free chocolate ice cream (I used Chapman’s No Sugar Added Lactose-Free Ice Cream)
1/4 cup lactose-free milk (I happened to have Dairyland Lactose-Free Chocolate Milk, so I used that instead)
2 tbsp cocoa powder
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

1. Add all ingredients to a large glass measuring cup. Use an immersion blender to mix until thick, creamy and smooth. Add more liquid if you need to make it liquidier – add more ice cream if it’s too liquidy (Really technical terms, I know). Adjust the spiciness to your liking. A 1/4 tsp might not be enough for you. I found this to be just right, though I worried it wasn’t enough – enough that you can tell its there, enough that there’s a little kick at the end, but not so much you’re on fire. Pour the mixture into a tall glass, add a straw and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

