Posted in Baked Goods, Breakfast, Cooking, Savory, Spreads

Breakfast Sammies on Buttermilk Biscuits

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again. I love breakfast. It’s my favorite meal of the day. There’s nothing like breaking the fast with something really delicious. Today, I started my day with a breakfast sandwich on a buttermilk biscuit. It was my take on two breakfast sandwiches really, the McDonald’s Biscuit Sandwiches and Dairy Lane Cafe’s Hillhurst Breakfast Sammy. I’ve never had a McDonald’s Biscuit sandwich before…I’ve always wanted to try, except it’s not very lactose-intolerant friendly, and not very diet friendly. I figured I could make my version even better than McDonalds – healthier and tastier thanks to a few ideas from Dairy Lane.

The sandwich was pretty simple to make, though it took a little longer than I’d usually wait for breakfast since I made the biscuits from scratch. I put a red pepper in the oven to roast, then whipped up the batter and put the biscuits in the oven. Once the biscuits were baking, I set to making the a roasted red pepper aioli. After that I poached my egg, picked some lettuce from my garden, fried up some bacon and built my sandwich. Just to fancy things up some more, I made hash browns too (I’ll post about those when I’m satisfied with out they turn out). Overall, it was delicious and worth the effort. I can’t wait to make it again this weekend for Bobatt!

 

Buttermilk Biscuit Breakfast Sammy

Yield: 12 biscuits, however many sandwiches as you’d like to prepare

Prep Time: 15 minutes | Cooking Time: 30 minutes (12-15 for the biscuits, 15 minutes for the sandwich toppings)

Ingredients:

Biscuits

2 1/2 cups flour
2 tbsp white sugar
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup cold lactose-free butter, cubed (or vegan margarine)
1 cup buttermilk (read through this post if you’d like to make your own lactose-free butter and buttermilk)
1 egg

Roasted Red Pepper Aioli

1 red pepper, roasted, peeled and seeded, cut into strips (read through this post if you need help roasting red peppers)
1/4 cup light mayo
1 tsp balsamic vinegar
1 tsp hot sauce

Sandwich

2 pieces of bacon per sandwich
1  poached egg (read through this post if you’d like help poaching eggs)
Lettuce
Tomato
Biscuit
Aioli

Biscuit Directions:

1. In bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Using pastry blender cut in butter until in coarse crumbs.

2. Whisk buttermilk with egg.

3. Stir the liquid into the dry mixture with fork until you have a soft dough.

4. Press dough into ball with floured hands. On lightly floured surface, knead gently 10 times.

5. Pat into circle that is about 3/4 inches thick. Using floured round cutter (or a glass if you’re like me and that’s all you have), cut the dough into rounds.

6. Place on parchment paper-lined or floured baking sheet.

7. Bake at 400°F until golden, 12 to 15 minutes.

Sandwich Directions:

1. Place all ingredients for the aioli in a food processor and whiz until smooth.

2. Make or gather all the toppings you’ll need – fry some bacon, poach an egg, cut up some tomato, get some lettuce.

2. On a plate, place a biscuit cut in half. Spread both cut sides with the aioli.

3. Top the sandwich with the egg, bacon, lettuce and tomato.

4. Enjoy!

(Adapted from Canadian Living’s Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe and Roasted Red Pepper Aioli at http://www.canadianliving.com)

Leave a Reply

