Posted in Cooking, Dinner, Pasta, Savory

What to Cook When You Don’t Feel Like Cooking

snowy

The recipe I’m about to share comes because I had a really shameful meal last week. I was home alone, had just woken up from a nap, and my cat had just barfed. I didn’t feel like cooking. Lately, I’ve been ordering in rather than cooking, and after cleaning up after my cat, that’s definitely what I wanted to do. It’s Lent though, and I gave up frivolous things. Instead of take out then, I had cereal for dinner – Reese’s Peanut Butter Puffs. The truly shameful part of this meal isn’t the cereal choice though. After pouring the bowl of cereal, I realized I didn’t have milk. So I used chocolate milk instead.  After chowing down and feeling awful about myself, I vowed to do better than that in the future. It started the very next night!

I was feeling unmotivated after working on report cards, but knew I needed to do better than the previous nights cereal fiasco. I had a package of pre-made ravioli, but no inspiration for sauce. I hopped on the internets and over to my favorite site, Pinterest. After a quick search, I found what I was looking for. Butternut Squash Ravioli with Whiskey Sage Cream Sauce. It was really quick, tasty and a way better choice than my cereal/chocolate milk combo. The next time you don’t feel like cooking but know you should, give this recipe a shot!

Ravioli

Butternut Squash Ravioli with Whisky Sage Cream Sauce

Yield: 4 servings

Prep Time: 5 minutes | Cooking Time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

1 package ready-to-cook butternut squash ravioli

2 cups lactose-free heavy cream (I buy regular cream and treat it with Lactaid drops)
2 tbsp rye whiskey
1 tsp ground sage
1/2 tsp garlic
Salt and Pepper to taste
Hazelnuts, toasted

Directions:

1. Fill a large pot with water and salt. Bring to a rolling boil.

2. In a large sauce pan, bring the cream, whiskey, sage, garlic, salt and pepper to a gentle boil.

3. Reduce to medium-low heat, and simmer for 10 – 15 minutes, or until the sauces thickens.

4. Add the ravioli to the now boiling pot of water. Cook for 4 minutes, or until the ravioli floats.

5. Toss the ravioli with the sauce.

6. Serve with a sprinkling of toasted hazelnuts. (I used pine nuts because I was out of hazelnuts)

(Recipe adapted from McCormick Gourmet Collection)

Leave a Reply

