Posted in Baked Goods, Cooking, Sweets

Caramel Apple Crisp

image

I seem to start every post lately with “It’s been so long since I’ve written”…and this one is no different. I’ve been very sporadic with posting recipes. Life is just going by at such a fast pace, and I’ve been going wherever it’s been taking me. That’s been everywhere except the kitchen. This summer alone, I’ve done my 6th Stampede week with A Band of Outriders, gotten married secretly, gone to the Okanogan Military Tattoo again with Outriders, gone on my honeymoon to Disneyland, and thrown a “Post I Do BBQ” in my backyard. Now that last point did bring me back to the kitchen, but I’ll talk about that in a later post. This current post is actually from the time my honeymoon brought me to the kitchen.

The day that Bobatt and I left for Disneyland for a week, I spent the earlier part of it readying our house for being away. After cleaning everything like a mad woman, I saw my fruit bowl and it was full of apples that wouldn’t be good in a week. I decided to make my neighbours apple crisp – it would used up my skanky fruit, and be a neighborly gesture of appreciation because they watch out for bad guys when we’re away.  I added a little caramel to the mix because I think a lot of baking is better drizzled with caramel. It also covers up the cooked fruit that I really don’t love.

Here is my version of apple crisp. It’s a less apple/more crisp version smothered in caramel sauce. It’s really just a vehicle for getting caramel and crisp to my mouth, and helps use up the old fruit kicking around. Make it for yourself – it’s very tasty – and you could even try eating the apple part…it’s not so bad!

image_2

image_3

 

Caramel Apple Crisp

Yield: Crisp for 2

Prep Time: 20 minutes | Bake Time: 30 – 40 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tbsp lactose-free butter or vegan margarine
  • 1/4 cup lactose-free cream
  • 1 apple
  • 2 dashes of flour
  • 1 dash of cinnamon (I used pumpkin spice for this particular crisp)
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/3 cup lactose-free butter or vegan margarine
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 cup rolled quick cooking oats

Preparation

  1. Heat the sugar and water in a small pot over medium-high heat. Leave be until the mixture starts to turn a bit brown, keeping an eye on this at all times. Caramel goes from not cooked to inedible and awful very quickly.
  2. Once the mixture is browning, start to gently swirl until the colour deepens and starts to resemble a nice summer tan – not the leathery “I spend all my time in a tanning bed” type, but the “I spent a week in Disneyland and I’m from Canada” kind of tan.
  3. Remove the caramel from heat. Add the butter and cream, and stir vigorously with a whisk. It will steam and hiss, and probably get really hard bits – just keep stirring. If you need, you can put it back on the burner and use the residual heat to help break down the chunks. If all else fails, you can remove the lumps by straining the caramel.
  4. Peel, core and chop the apple. Toss with flour and cinnamon.
  5. Pour the ready apples into a small greased dish or skillet. Cover with half the caramel, then set aside.
  6. Make the crisp by mixing all the remaining ingredients.
  7. Sprinkle the crisp over the fruit.
  8. Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 – 40 minutes.
  9. Drizzle with remaining caramel while the crisp is still warm.

(Adapted from P.S. Heart)

Leave a Reply

