Cooking

Lactose-Free Ricotta

14615850_10154571936879591_5467265170234813155_o

Lactose-Free Ricotta has been my nemesis for years now. If you remember back to my triumphant cheese-making experience, I wanted to make ricotta with the leftover whey. I’ve tried many times to make it, and it never, ever worked out. The answer to this problem was KISS. Keep it simple stupid.

No rennet or citric acid. Just vinegar.

This recipe is so easy, I’m actually kind of ashamed I didn’t know sooner – and sad too. I could have been eating this all these years. Maybe it’s not authentic ricotta, but I’m not complaining. Since I’m lactose intolerant, I don’t even know the difference anyway.

All you need for making ricotta is whole milk, salt, and vinegar. Oh, you also need a bowl and a pot, which I bet you already have. And a cooking thermometer and a sieve. Boom. That’s all.

 

Once I made the cheese, I celebrated by making more. I did a test run of this recipe with only 2 cups of milk, and that gave me only a 1/2 cup of cheese. I made Creamy Pumpkin Lasagne Rolls by Giada De Laurentiis, and I needed 1 1/2 cups of ricotta for it.

14567343_10154573076529591_3921279942437855737_o

It was quite the celebration. Like Ratatouille celebrating. So good.

Lactose-Free Ricotta Cheese

Yield: 1 1/2 cups

Prep Time: 5 minutes | Cooking Time: 10 minutes | Total Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

6 cups lactose-free whole milk
6 tbsp vinegar
Several pinches of salt

Directions:

  1. Pour milk into a saucepan and add a few pinches of salt. Heat to 165 degrees F using a cooking thermometer.
  2. Once the milk reaches 165 degrees, turn off the heat but leave the pot on the burner. (I found this helped the milk curdle better)
  3. Add the vinegar, and swirl the pot to mix a few times. Let this mixture sit for up to 10 minutes.
  4. Set up a bowl and sieve, then pour the milk and vinegar mixture over to strain.
  5. Let this sit for 20 – 30 minutes until liquid has drained off. Once it’s drained, press a few times with a spatula to get rid of and excess liquid.
  6. Voila – ricotta. Use immediately fresh or in a recipe. If not using right away, store in an airtight container in the fridge.

Recipe adapted from Little House Living.

 

Leave a Reply

